About CalAPA

At its September 2013 meeting, the Commission amended the requirements for earning a preliminary administrative services credential to include, when developed, passage of an administrator performance assessment. The CTC developed a model of administrator performance assessment, the California Administrator Performance Assessment (CalAPA), which is now complete and required of all candidates of the Preliminary Administrative Services Credential.

This development effort includes the following main steps:

CTC Adoption of APA Design Standards 
February 2016
CAPE Validity Study
May 2016
CTC Adoption of CAPE 
June 2016
Assessment and Scoring Rubric Development
June–October 2016
Pilot Test
January–April 2017
Field Test
Fall 2017–Spring 2018
Operational Administration
Fall 2018
graphic illustrating the APA cycle of investigate plan act reflect

CalAPA Design

The CalAPA is structured around three full leadership cycles of investigate, plan, act, and reflect. Each of these four steps are addressed by each cycle, with candidates providing evidence of leadership practice for each step. Acceptable evidence may be in a variety of forms, including video recordings and written narrative.

Together, these leadership cycles and the related rubrics assess a range of the CAPE.

Opportunities to Participate

The Commission is seeking current California teachers, practicing TK–12 school administrators, educators who help prepare and/or mentor beginning administrators, and administrator preparation program faculty to participate in the upcoming scoring and standard setting study for the CalAPA. Scoring opportunities will be available on an ongoing basis beginning in fall 2018.

The involvement of California educators is critical to the success of the CalAPA program and maintaining high-quality education in California schools. If you are interested in finding out more about participating in scoring or standard setting activities for the CalAPA, please contact Evaluation Systems.